Happy New Year?

Has it really been 2 months since my last post? Doesn’t time fly when you’ve got cancer? Actually no, it drags. Really drags. It drags worse than Kerry Katona on ice skates. And I should know (more on that later.)

“So what’s been happening in Tarquin land?” I hear you cry. Answer: Sod all.

Well if you count yet more ineptitude by the NHS administration as ‘something happening’ then I guess something has happened. After mis-referring me TWICE, eventually Oxford and Sheffield have got their act together an I am now officially on the waiting list for Gamma Knife Surgery.

I was originally referred in August 2010 but had to wait until my November MRI scans to be sent before I got on the waiting list. This seems to be a crafty ruse employed by hospitals so that they can massage their figures. As I am not on a waiting list, I can’t be waiting longer than their charter allows. Oxford forgot to send my scans, twice, but have now done so and as at 14th January 2011 I am officially waiting rather than just waiting in my own time. The hospital says they have a charter to see me within 18 weeks of referral, well 18 weeks from 14th January takes us to 20th May. And we’re getting married on 21st May. Fantastic.

I hope they will be able to see me at least 2 weeks before the wedding so that my head and face can heal and so that I am able to fly off on honeymoon. But there’s no guarantee.

So I sit. And I wait. And I hope.

Generally my health is improving. My balance and co-ordination are better but my chronic fatigue is still as debilitating as ever. A late night, a busy day, too much activity (ie any at all)  take their toll on me the next day and I am wiped out.

My lovely cousin Dan got us tickets to Dancing on Ice and we thoroughly enjoyed it – I was in Z list celebrity heaven! Even Adrian got a bit starstruck over Freddie Flintoff. It was a long day but the adrenaline kicked in and I was able to stay for the whole show. However, the next day I could barely raise my head off the pillow. Luckily I didn’t have to.

Adrian is now away on business for 3 days, the first time we have been apart since my stay in hospital in August and the first time I have been at home alone overnight. My Mum is in Canada visiting her sister Gloria (wife of the wonderful Uncle Dave) who is not well at all. I feel rotten that Mum has had to go alone, I wish I could go with her but I am not able to fly and know I can’t be of any practical help. The old me would have taken it in my stride and hired a car and helped out in any way I could. The new me just has to stay at home and hope everything is OK.

The other thing is that I have written an article for ELLE Magazine which will appear in the March issue (out on February 6th). The features editor got in touch with me after reading this very blog and asked whether I would write an article for them. It is a little about Tarquin but more really about Adrian and I, how we met and how we fell in love during my cancer treatment. I guess to others it might seem an unusual story but to us it seems the most natural thing in the world. It isn’t an ideal way to start a relationship, but I think the way we have handled this, we can pretty much handle anything life cares to throw at us. So please go out and buy the March issue of ELLE and let the lovely people there know how much more you would like to read from their new correspondent! Well, now that I am walking better I have my eye on a new pair of Louboutins……….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by tarquinchronicles. Bookmark the permalink.

About tarquinchronicles

I have recently been diagnosed with a brain tumour which I have called Tarquin. Tarquin was a Roman emperor who was inordinately cruel and vicious but who was eventually banished and died in exile. This is the chronicle of the rise and (hopeful) fall of Tarquin the Tumour.

7 thoughts on “Happy New Year?

  1. Justine – i is so good and inspiring to having you back on line and Blogging! Thanks for the effort that i know that’ll have taken. And also your wit and inspiration!

    Last week i bought ‘She’ magazine to read an article about Laura Lee the CEO at Maggie’s Cancer Care Centre’s, this week i’ll be buying ‘Elle’. My local papershop are gonna be thinking i’ve gone over to the otherside! Hey, they already think that my long term chemo brain has turned me a bit loopy, so hell who cares if i’m buying ladies mags on a regular basis. (i however draw a line at OK and Hello!). I look forward to reang all about it. Keep well and be happy. Bruce.

  2. Justine – Congrats on the article! I can’t wait to read it. Maybe it will be a new career for you! Have been thinking of you and am glad you are finally closer to getting your gamma knife procedure completed. Best wishes as you continue to heal!
    Denise

  3. Hello, I found your blog through the Navigating Cancer site. I wanted to let you know that my wife Lindy suffers from brian cancer as well. She’s 34 and we have three young kids. She underwent Gamma Knife surgery this past fall at Mayo Clinic. She really resonded well to it — the doctors were amazed. I post this to give you hope. Learn more about Lindy at verbeekblog.com, I’m sure she’d be happy to talk with you.

  4. Congrats!

    You really need to write a book (I would accept a short story) so that a play and tv series can be developed. Who would play you??

    “Doesn’t time fly when you’ve got cancer? ” made me spit out my tea. Keep it up! We’re reading…

Leave a Reply

